Meet the Council

Members of the Council meet several times a year to decide our programme of lectures and plan the Society’s work. This year the Council has focused on our centenary, concentrating on raising funds for our 2021 exhibition and catalogue. Also on our agenda have been designing and building our new website, watching over the finances, and liaising with sister ceramic societies overseas.


Beth McKillop

It is the study of Asian art that lights up the eyes of members of the Oriental Ceramic Society.

For 100 years, collectors and curators, dealers and professors have all met regularly in central London to listen and to debate. Our long-running journal, Transactions¸lets us look back on lectures from the great figures of British and international Asian art history. Today, the Society is a vibrant organisation where friends and acquaintances exchange ideas, plan journeys and debate the issues of the day.

The generosity of past members has enriched London’s museum collections of Chinese ceramics. The Society benefits from the generous support of the art trade, including dealers and auction houses, who sponsor lectures and arrange viewing visits. We are fortunate that curators and scholars from the British Museum, the Victoria & Albert Museum and the School of Oriental and African Studies still play an active part in our programmes too.

All are welcome to join our lectures. As we enter 2021, our centenary year, we look forward to carrying on our convivial practice of meeting friends from auction houses, dealers, collectors, museums and universities.

We welcome you to join us as we celebrate our 100th birthday!

Beth McKillop FSA, President, The Oriental Ceramic Society

Beth McKillop

The OCS Council

Beth McKillop

Vice President & Honorary Treasurer
Peter White

Honorary Secretary
Editor of TOCS

Stacey Pierson

Assistant Honorary Secretary
Curator of the OCS Centennial Exhibition

Sarah Wong

Representative from the British Museum
Jessica Harrison-Hall

Representative from the
Victoria & Albert Museum

Xiaoxin Li

Representative in North America
Angela McAteer

Co-editors of the OCS Newsletter
Teresa Canepa and Beth Gardiner

Council Members

Stuart Balmer

Elaine Buck

David Canty

Asaph Hyman

Clive Jacotine

Henry Howard-Sneyd

Malcolm McNeill

Willemijn van Noord

Harry Douglas-Hamilton